Tuesday, June 29, 2010

Nationalism vs. Patriotism

As you would know, nano, canada day is coming up. You are a canadian blog after all. This is the time of year when the proud canadians start getting all revved up and excited, glad to share their support and love of their country.
Unfortunately, some have been known to take this a little too far. It's not that commonly heard of in canada, but our neighbours to the south are well known for blurring the line between pride and xenophobia. Far be it from me to tell them not to celebrate- even if I don't agree with a lot of their values, they are welcome to support as they please-but just because you love your country doesn't mean you have to put down others.
There is lots in the states to be proud of: a strong economy, family values, traditional mindsets, a bipartisan system (I don't really care about any of those but whatever). It's great that as a country they can be united and show their belief in all those things. Good on you. But if your celebrations of national heritage starts leaking into how bad mexico or canada are for not having those values, I'm starting to get bovvered.
Why can't you just be happy and proud of your country without putting down others? It's not as if on canada day we chat about how superior we are to the states... oh wait. yes we do. Evidently I'm in no position to slag the united states for, essentially, doing to canada what canada does to the states.

I've completely lost both my train of thought and my passion in that matter. Is it only me that happens to? I have so much emotion and thoughts about something, but then once I start writing I get ~300 words in and i've used it all up, so I just starting making stuff up and trying to keep it going. This is why most of my arguments start out strong and just die out at the end, much like this one.

But yeah. canada day *woooop* canada's a pretty good country. now if we just get stephen harper out of government for good, we'll be golden.

Saturday, June 26, 2010

Are you arfuh or marfuh?

/unrelated titles ftw

So after posting on thursday I remembered how much I enjoyed posting in this, even if no one else reads it. In fact, it's almost better that way- I'd rather have no readers than mass multitudes pressuring me. However, a few dedicated followers would be absolutely lovely- there's a continuum in place, just like in chemical bonding. Except, you know, the numbers are more like 0 > ~5 > ~100. Not 0.5 and 1.7, though those are also nice numbers.

I think I write in paragraphs that are too large; from now on, I'll start doing text breaks more often, try to make it easier to read. I don't know why big paragraphs are harder to read- do you think the block of text is intimidating? But if it's something you want to read (and no one would force you to read this) shouldn't high volume= excellence?


A very potter musical is possibly the best HP fandom experience you can have. Really, if you haven't seen it you should watch it. Scroll down a bit to find the youtube link. I warn you, it is 2 1/2 hours long. But again, if it's something you love then that should just be a positive thing.

I wonder why the three suggested tags blogspot keeps pushing at me are scooters, vacation, and fall. I think I'll write a story about that, maybe post it later for your pleasure. Or I might just post it here, because I adore longer entries and this is still fairly dwarfish.

That will be a challenge to write though- no one goes for "fall vacation". Winter, sure. Spring even. Summer- no doubt. Fall is the only season people don't go on holiday for. And scooters? Maybe... ooh, I have an idea now. Enjoy:

Mordecai was a typical youth in the summer before grade 6- average grades, average size, average family. He was actual abnormal in his lack of uniqueness. And much like any other boy of his age, he was a fan of skateboards, bicycles, scooters, and any other man-powered vehicles.
So maybe he's not the most average boy ever: very few ten year olds still go on bike rides. Sadly, video games and a sped-up puberty mean that bicycles are hardly high on the typical adolescent. For the sake of the story, let's say this takes place in the 1970s. Groovy baby.
On his scooter, on his way to the disco (see that? that's some good setting right there), Mordecai was having as much fun as any young boy could on a flimsy metal-and-plastic contraption. Unfortunately, this being the 1970s there weren't quite as many safety regulations in place. notably, the legal requirement of helmets was unheard of. Mordecai would regret this after he was struck by a car.
Before you worry, he didn't die. He was admitted to hospital, and he did survive, though with a few injuries: like, you know, a shattered spine. He would never walk or ride his bicycle again. (I want to ride my bicycle, I want to ride my bike...)
However, there was one bright side to the story: this having taken place in August, Mordecai missed the first few weeks of school. By that point, the pain had grown far less and he had become used to his new wheelchair bound life. And like any boy, he was overjoyed at the thought of missing school.
Always one to find the silver lining, Mordecai enjoyed his vacation that fall- even if his damned scooter was to blame.
*edit*: Miraculously, Mordecai was actually able to walk again! Due to rapid advances in non-embryonic stem cell research, his spinal cord was successfully recreated and surgically applied. He now spends his time playing soccer and climbing trees.

Take that blogspot. Now leave my damned tag bar alone.

Thursday, June 24, 2010

Nano jokes- back from the dead? Does that make it a zombie blog? Zomblog?

Hello faithful readers.

Oh, please. We don't have any readers. And it's barely a we anyways. Clearly, I have lots to tell you today. Let's start at the beginning, hmm?

So Sasha and I started this blog with daily posts. Then we moved it to weekly posts. Now it's been lying stagnant, abandoned all alone on the internet for weeks. This does not seem fair to me. So I've spoken with sasha, and I'm going to start this up again. No specific posting times, no limits. But be forewarned that daily posts are not likely to make a return, because a long, well-written post every week or so is far better than quickies every day. We all agree on that.

We isn't even a good choice. No one reads this. I know two people for sure follow it- well at least they did. Probably gave up on it a while ago- but there is not even close to a decent fanbase for me to keep addressing the readers. maybe I'll just write in third person forever? or maybe I'll just make up an imaginary name for the blog. I would ask if it were ok, but no one reads this anyways SO! From now on all posts by jack will be written as if spoken to Nano. What a cute name.

You'll be seeing more of me, blog. Probably quite a bit for a little while, seeing as tomorrow is my last exam and then I'm free for a week or so. Until summer school starts /sigh

Bye nano!