Thursday, August 5, 2010

Vests and Tomatoes and Silky Goodness

Long time no blog, nano. But Pavel-, er I mean ~V - has been doing an admirable job, hasn't he? I think he deserves some praise.
So what has happened since we last spoke, nano? let's see... I went to see Keane at the end of July, and it was AMAZING. I was just expecting them and maybe a decent opener, but it ended up being an 8 hour festival! Ingrid Michaelson showed up too, which was one of the best surprises of my life. AND! She covered poker face! And Creep! And TOXIC! it was amazing and I have no words. Then she finished her set with this incredible group choreography. I was expecting, from her records, that she would be more mellow, instruments + vocals alone on stage, but she ended up being such a high energy performer. She was almost better than keane- ALMOST.
It would be difficult to beat keane, because in concert they were the best band I've ever seen. Admittedly, I've seen only a few shows- Regina Spektor, Sarah Harmer, Great Big Sea, but Keane was so good. And they closed with my favourite song- Crystal Ball. Perfect ending to the best concert ever.
And as if the music wasn't enough, this festival took place at Ontario Place, so Aline, shannon and I spent the day there. We had beavertails- which are whole wheat! Like, all of them! Without even asking they give you whole wheat beavertails! - and went on the log ride 3 times. I would have gone for so many more. I'm not a big fan of rides in general- rollercoaster, no thank you. But the log ride was fun, even if there were uber creepy mannequins all over the place.

I hate mannequins. HATE THEM. They're so creepy, I am not a fan. And this log ride was sort of mining-based, so there were fake people with explosives and pickaxes, and just posed inside a cave. it was too scary for me, I had to close my eyes. So my friends laughed at me.

Oh, and today I finished knitting my vest! I'd like to think it looks really good, and the friends I texted a picture to think so, but not so many people have seen it yet. Now that I'm done with that I started a lace scarf with some very pretty silk yarn [it's 03 Sunset]. Sasha (you remember Sasha, don't you nano?) will see it today when we go to the drive in with our friends Briar and Kelly. You should check Kelly out on tumblr and flickr, she's an amazing photographer. And she owes me now for pimping her out on this blog, cause we get so much traffic here on nano...

I think that's enough blogging for today nano. I hope you enjoyed catching up as much as I did, and ~V should be back any day now.

Adieu!

No comments:

Post a Comment