Friday, April 9, 2010

Big, Noisy, Dirty, Expensive, ... good?

I hate driving. It's stressful, lazy, bad for the environment, your wallet, and cute furry creatures everywhere. That being said, I'm in driving school now. Lolirony. It's not that I particularily want to drive- it's more of a necessity. Directly contrasting the whole "driving is a right, not a privilege" (begging the question of why someone would invent a great contraption and then make it such an exclusive option- if automobiles are so amazing, why do they cost so much? Why can you only drive one if you pass a test? What if you don't have the $120 required to even WRITE the test? But I digress), I actually have to get my licence. My currently living conditions, no matter how temporary, require me to learn how to drive. It's that or perpetually stay at home as both cars are out being driven by the parental units.


What other things, dear readers, can you think of that are commonly referred to as a right but should be a privilege? Lots of communal wells in poor african locations are only available to those who can pay the fee... does that makes water a privilege? If we have to forever suck down the exhaust from great dirty beasts of industry, our air quality will decrease. it's a fact. Shouldn't clean air be a right? You know, the right-to-not-poison-yourself-with-every-breath?

let us know commenter-type-people. We appreciate your input, and it makes our lives easier if we can waste, oh, 150 characters by just talking nonsense to you. Like I am right now.


EDIT: BMIN/E ARRIVED LIKE, SECONDS AGO. YOU KNOW WHOM I CAME TO FIRST. AND NOW, I GO INTO HIDING FOR HOURS. FAREWELL.

No comments:

Post a Comment